Reflections on Blogging

I was very hesitant with blogging initially, but I developed many ways that I could use it to help students when they leave school.  I definitely think blogging is a great asset for teachers. As far as this year goes, I doubt I will use it with my students because I have a set routine for my current students.  There is no doubt in my mind that I will have this ready to go next year, when I can introduce my blog to students in the beginning of the year with my syllabus and on Back to School Night with parents.

Throughout the course I was able to learn a lot about myself and my views on math concepts.  By reflecting on my math background through the prompts given, I am now more attentive to student needs.

The one thing that I found very interesting in this course was using virtual manipulatives to help teach concepts.  I used several of them in my classroom throughout the past several weeks. For example, algebra tiles for integer operations and the Algebra Balance Scale.  My students were very receptive to both tools.

I already use journals with my students, however, I ve learned to use them more efficiently.  I will use blogging in the future with my classes to help keep students updated with homework, vocabulary, and class examples.  I think its a great way to reach students outside of the classroom.

2 Responses to “Reflections on Blogging”

  1. Shawn,

    Anytime we stop and reflect on what we do in the classroom or our own learning we deeper our own understanding. It seems you have benefitted from the experience of using a blog and applied your new knowledge with your students.

    Judy

  2. I like your idea of using the blog as a resource for students to check homework and vocabulary. This is not only helpful for the students but I have found that parents are very appreciative of this source.

Leave a Reply

