A little about myself….

I am a middle school math teacher in the Lebanon City School District. Currently, I teach three sections of Pre-Algebra and one section of Algebra 1.  This is my seventh year of teaching. I spent four years teaching in Maryland and the last three years teaching in Pennsylvania.  I graduated from Hempfield High School in Lancaster County, PA. I then went on to graduate from Mansfield University of Pennsylvania.

I am an avid sports fan, who enjoys spending time with my family, which includes my wife and two children, five year old Gabriella and two year old Lexi.

Two goals that I wish to accomplish throughout this course would be to learn how to use different manipulatives in Algebra and to be exposed to different styles of teaching Algebra.

4 Responses to “A little about myself….”

  1. I like the layout of your blog! Nice job. What book do you guys use for algebra 1? In the high school that I teach in we use the Mcdougal littel Algebra 1 which has some great examples with manipulatives. Also, what do you use for pre-algebra?

  2. We have 2 connections that I can see from your blog. I’m also looking for new ways to present things to my students. The other is that I’m very familiar with Lebanon. My wife is from there.

  3. Shawn, I used to teach in Maryland also. Where in Maryland did you teach? I taught in PG County (Hyattsville, MD) for 3 years.
    Damian Gomm

Leave a Reply

